Google Chrome and Win7 Taskbar

Olexijl

Hello,

At all Win7 and Chrome users: there seems to be a bug with behaviour of Chrome on Win7 (in the taskbar).

I am new to Chrome. I installed Chrome 25.0.1364.72 (the latest stable) but it seems there is a bug in there.

Every program on Win7 behaves the same once the symbol of the program is 'pinned' to taskbar. There are rules as following:

1. If the program's symbol/icon is 'pinned', on launch of the program no other symbol/icon of the program is showing then the one already 'pinned'

2. In case of browsers you can change the tabs (if many opened) from the taskbar (to do so hover your mouse on 'pinned' symbol of the browser and change the tabs).

2a) The same goes for documents in MS Office as example. You can change between documents in Word etc.

Now what i mean is as example on Firefox..

FFTaskbar_zpsa18f7424.jpg

Chrome, however, breaks those rules completely. It behaves like a single tab browser in general (even if many tabs opened) and there are TWO! separate icons showing.

Look:

There are many tabs opened:

chrometabs1_zps41f52c45.jpg

However it behaves like one tab opened, besides 2 icons on taskbar:

chrometabs2_zps1c0cf8b2.jpg

Edit: so what do you think? Even IE (however it is built-in) behaves the same, if it comes to taskbar. Only Chrome seems to make his own thing.

• Replies 11
  • Views 2.3k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The problem with 2 icons occurs just after fresh install.

As temporary fix:

1. launch Chrome. The NEW icon appears.

2. 'Pin' this icon on taskbar.

3. Remove the one OLD icon the setup of Chrome created from the taskbar by 'unpinning' it.

Now it works correctly. The icon generated by Chrome's setup should not be used. Merely one you 'pinned' by yourself alone.

But there is a bug with single tab behaviour with multiple tabs opened. There is no help for it.

Once more strange behaviour: