Is Ad Muncher really effective?

x3r0

I've never used any Ads blocker software before... not even ever switch on my Kaspersky integrated Ads Blocker...

What I'm curious about is how effective these kind of programs on daily surfing using any web browser?

I've read the "introduction" of Ad Muncher on its website, it's very interesting, promising... But I mean can this software really makes Internet surfing much faster? Considered I'm too lazy to install and try this program for a trial use...

I surf the Internet using Opera (with some tweaks like block all popups - except that I really know this is a popup that I want, turn off images - yes it's makes surfing a lot faster, if I need to see some images, just right click on the images spot and choose reload images, and switch on "Enable plug-ins only on demand" - TA DA!!!, anything web content based on Flash or Silverlight (ads too) won't even load up unless I click on them). I also never used any "Ads-ware" program...

Do you think Ad Muncher can help me gain more speed surfing on the Internet? Please share your experience/opinion if you're using Ad Muncher. Thanks.

• Replies 12
  • Views 1.3k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I use Ad Muncher, and I have to say it does a great job on blocking ads. As for your questions whether it makes the surfing faster; it certainly makes the surfing faster by blocking the ads and unwanted contents, but besides that I don't know if it makes the website load any faster, but it does save your bandwith :) and about the faster downloads and all, I'm not sure if they are true, I've tested it, but I didn't notice any difference. I hope I were able to help.

Do you have limited bandwidth or a very slow connection? I'm curious why did you take all those torturous steps on Opera.