Overclocking Help

Frosticles

Hi guys i was wondering if i could get some help overclocking my AMD Phenom II 965 Black Edition, at the moment ive got it at 3.732GHz (15.5 * 240) and 1.452V The bus freq does wobble around so thats not what it normally is

cpuqc.png

Thats what it normally is

I have tested this with 5 1/2 hours of Prime95 (Small FFT) and got max temps of about 65C and its completely stable. I have fiddled around with it and have had at around 3.9GHz with about 1.46V but that wasn't stable. Ive got an Asus M4A89GTD PRO motherboard if that could make any difference. Ive also overclocked my MSI 5770 Hawk to 945MHz core and 1330MHz on the memory at 1.225V. I tested this with Kombustor and its stable, but temps are about 75C so i stopped there. So has anyone got any advice on what to do because im quite new to overclocking so i dont want to go pumping through lots of voltage or something, without being completely sure on what im doing to it :fear: .

• Replies 22
  • Views 2.6k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

@Frosticles:

You should see if you can have a stable OC with lower voltage first. The lower the voltage the better.

You should also set your RAM to the lowest frequency, so you can push your OC further.

For more details, you should read this: Link

Although it's a guide for Intel C2D and C2Q, the concept applies on how to OC.

Also, you should search for articles regarding your CPU: Link

You must reduce the number of sources for error. So you will first OC the CPU until everything is nice, stable and dandy, then you will start the RAM OC. That's to make sure that if you get errors, they're not from RAM.

Question: Why do you need the extra speed for? You have a good quad CPU. It would tear through almost everything. So you must ask yourself this... "Do I really need that OC?"

@Frosticles:

Since you have a Black Edition, it means that the multiplier is unlocked.

It also means that you can also increase FSB together with multiplier.