Amplify Posted July 4, 2007 Share Posted July 4, 2007 by ErnestoMedia Defender, a notorious anti piracy gang working for the MPAA, RIAA and several independent media production companies, just launched their very own video upload service called “miivi.com”. The sole purpose of the site is to trap people into uploading copyrighted material, and bust them for doing so.Media Defender is known for their shady tactics. Besides launching video upload services, they also trap people into downloading fake torrents so they can collect IP addresses, and send copyright infringement letters to ISPs.Fortunately, most of the IPs of these fake BitTorrent trackers are already blocked by blocklist software like PeerGuardian. However, they still manage to collect the IP addresses of thousands of users who do fall for this trap. And Now they try to do the same with their “fake” video download service. They have registered a new domain and launched a video upload / download site with a web 2.0-ish name: miivi.com. Miivi claims to offer hight speed downloads of blockbuster movies like “300” (don’t download), hereby luring people into downloading copyrighted content.Apparently the cease and desist letters they send to P2P users and video sharing sites like YouTube and other are not enough. At the bottom of this article is a screenshot of the WHOIS info, it speaks for itself. No matter how wrong ‘piracy’ might seem to some people, this is NOT the way to fight it. My suggestion is: upload and download as much legal content as you can, titled “THIS SITE IS A SCAM“, let’s see if their servers can handle the stress.Update: they changed their WHOIS info.Torrent Freak Source Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
myidisbb Posted July 4, 2007 Share Posted July 4, 2007 lets see term of usage and other privacy informatin. and if they are getting people to upload then they are breaking the law. their isp/server host needs to receive a leeter to shut them down for copyright infigment Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vargas Posted July 4, 2007 Share Posted July 4, 2007 It shouldn't be copywrite infringment to download it if they have permission from the studios to upload it. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
myidisbb Posted July 4, 2007 Share Posted July 4, 2007 It shouldn't be copywrite infringment to download it if they have permission from the studios to upload it.download is still legal. its uplaoding that is illegal. if they have a website that is lying. ei fake TOS and other privacy inf they are brekaing the law. FTA. they, the movie studios do NOT have the right nor premission to allow any uploading nor downloading. they open themselves up to massive illegal and civil lawsuits. its clear that they are into qucik settles of theat of force and isp harressment. this is clearly illegal. if i am a store and i pt a costly item near the door or some other way to (want it to be stolen) i would be sued by the civil rights groups for having a minority steal it. same idea and thing.besides any allowing uploading or downloading therefore would also void the that copyright and any other future copyrights on that item too. just like trademarks and patents. the illegal clinton dmca would not protect their copyrights if they did that. nor would bush FEC act on any pre shown movie if they let it u/d on that site. it is clear that the 3rd party companies working for the riaa and movie studies are doing anything for money and breaking the law. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amplify Posted July 4, 2007 Author Share Posted July 4, 2007 The RIAA and MPAA are seemingly growing truly desperate. This foul act of fraud is unacceptable, but of course, we the consumers are the only ones who feel it to be so. To authorities it'll be justified due to "investigation and prosecution" purposes, I assume. I can only imagine that's what their defense may be but one can still accuse them of fraud.The big companies and authorities will always make exceptions when they feel its justified so who knows if this information will be worth anything as defense. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
legba Posted July 4, 2007 Share Posted July 4, 2007 If you guys wanna know who is the rotten genius behind all this here is for you what 20 seconds fo Google Research brought me to:www.myspace.com/djcolinand if you cannot access MySpace cos simply you don't want to become affiliated, here is an idioticly simply way to bypass MySpace privacy blocks: use Google Cache!!! hahahahahah!http://64.233.183.104/search?q=cache:rT1F6...lient=firefox-aSo the question is, is this guy that Randy Saaf on the WHOIS list?He really seems proud of himself to publish all this:Dos Manos's DetailsStatus: MarriedHere for: Networking, FriendsOrientation: StraightHometown: VeniceBody type: 5' 11" / AthleticReligion: AgnosticZodiac Sign: SagittariusChildren: SomedayEducation: College graduateOccupation: Skeet shootin' Dos Manos's SchoolsUniversity Of California-Santa CruzSanta Cruz,CaliforniaGraduated: 2003Student status: AlumniDegree: Bachelor's DegreeMajor: History 1996 to 2000Malibu HighMalibu,CaliforniaGraduated: 1996Student status: AlumniDegree: High School Diploma 1992 to 1996 Dos Manos's CompaniesMiivi.comSanta Monica, CA USChief EditorMiiViSanta Monica, CA USChief EditorMiiviSanta Monica, CA USChief Editor Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
legba Posted July 4, 2007 Share Posted July 4, 2007 Site is down and ower apparently changed.... what in the world is going on here????Registrant: Miivi, inc. 2461 santa monica blvd santa monica, California 90404 United States Registered through: GoDaddy.com, Inc. (http://www.godaddy.com) Domain Name: MIIVI.COM Created on: 08-Feb-07 Expires on: 08-Feb-10 Last Updated on: 04-Jul-07 Administrative Contact: Chang, Jonathan [email protected] 2461 santa monica blvd santa monica, California 90404 United States 310-954-3300 Technical Contact: Chang, Jonathan [email protected] 2461 santa monica blvd santa monica, California 90404 United States 310-954-3300 Domain servers in listed order: NS5.SECURESERVER.NET NS6.SECURESERVER.NET Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ambrocious Posted July 6, 2007 Share Posted July 6, 2007 I see what they have done and it is actually a good start. Trust me, I dont like them a bit and I dont agree with what they are doing but think of it this way.You own a vegitable patch, lush and thick of all kinds of vegitables. Every day you have people that come buy and you sell some of them because your vegitables are the best. But at night sometime, some of your vegitable come up missing and you are never able to catch who's doing it. So the owner sets a few traps and catches a few but most get away.For a good bit of time we have been taking stuff (software,movies,other programs) for free and by their law, it is considered stealing. Trust me, I love getting free stuff and I also can't help but pointing out the obvious too so thats why I stated this analigy. Even though the vegies grow back, it still irritates them. I don't know about you but my favorite farmer was the one who had a huge harvest and GAVE his stuff away if you get my drift. Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Recommended Posts
Archived
This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.