Trent Reznor: 'I steal music too'

Samurai

taum.jpg

Wants to offer $4 dollar album downloads at a bitrate of your choice, and blames the record industry for its own problems by having ripped off customers for so many years.

NIN seems to be leading the way for how the music industry of the future should be, taking on high priced CD albums and mindless record label execs bent on getting every nickel and dime it can get no matter what the cost to its music artists and image.

Last week I wrote about one of NIN's blog postings in which Trent Reznor, the band's outspoken frontman, railed against overpriced CDs and lamented that "No wonder people steal music." Apparently while on a sojourn in Australia he browsed the racks of a brick and mortar CD store (guess at least one country still has them) and was angered by the fact that his new "Year Zero" album was retailing for $29 USD. Yes $29 USD!! As an artist I'd be angry too.

Well, a few days later it seems he was interviewed by Australia's Herald Sun newspaper and they asked him about file-sharing and his thoughts on the state of physical CD prices.

The most interesting response he gave was to the question of illegally downloading music, to which he answered "...I steal music too, I'm not gonna say I don't." Is Trent hardcore or what?

He goes on to say that sure he resents people getting his stuff for free but, unlike most other artists it seems he knows who's actually to blame for the whole file-sharing mess -- record labels. He says that "... you got record labels that are doing everything they can to piss people off and rip them off." That's right, Mr. Reznor has been blessed with a clarity of thought and mind that's been sadly lacking from the music industry for some time now.