IE8

shajt

Hi,

I recently moved to Internet Explorer 8 and I've been using it for a few days.

What I noticed is very interesting.

Every time I close IE there is iexplore.exe process still running and eating 50% of CPU usage.

I googled a little about this and I can see people are asking the same thing but I wasn't able to find answer.

I can kill that task without problem , but still ... I surely can't remember to do that every time, why is this happening ?

Anyone know what is going on ?

tnx

• Replies 35
  • Views 2.3k
  • Created
  • Last Reply
  • Administrator

Have IE Pro 7?

Try disabling any plugins in IE. Or use a tweak that combines all the ie processors into one. If it still doesn't work, IE sucks. :P

Nah, it's regular IE8 which comes with Win7 , OS is fully updated.

Only thing I tried was to go in Manage Add-ons and disabled ALL , just to try if that is related, but it's not.

I've been browsing for many many years and never used IE before, but I don't think this latest one sucks,I really like it, only problem is that weird process still running after closing.

But I'll find what is causing the problem :sneaky:

• Administrator

Hmm. I think that many process into one process may help. You should try.

I cannot think of anything else that may solve the problem(as you ruled out plugins problem).

Sl@pSh0ck™

If you don't find any solution, you might want to give this a try. Run IE sandboxed (sandboxie) ... then open sandboxie control ... right click on IE - program settings - program stop - tick the first box under it.

post-23431-127128099338_thumb.png

I just found out something interesting ....

When IE is opened by email client (I'm using TheBat btw) by clicking on link in email message, then when I close IE iexplore.exe is not running (like it should be) :mellow:

But when I start IE via Start button then it happens every time.

Huh ... :blink:

IE 8 runs one process for the main GUI and one additional process for each tab.