Password manager

Betts1964

NotMyRealNāme

I have been using KeePass on Windows for many years. It offers some protection against password cracking ie brute force attacks and can be linked to user accounts, which I would never use or keyfile usage to make it harder to open the password files, meaning more than a password is required to open the password database.

• 2 weeks later...
SatinOverlord

I agree with the above and have been using KeePass for many years now. It strikes just the right balance between usability and functionality. It's free with no ads or bloatware and under constant development.

https://keepass.info/

Plugins I can recommend:

• DataBaseBackup
  • Favicon Downloader
  • QualityColumn

KeePassXC 

Edited by kasper

• 1 month later...

Moved from Software Chat.

Password managers are software, but more specifically they're security software so this topic is better here.

• Like 2

• 4 weeks later...

Well, I think the best password manager is only your mind: It is a good training for the brain to memorize the most important passwords.

And yes, for less important passwords you can use the KeePass.

• 5 months later...

I have been using RoboForm for the last almost 20 years.

Earlier it had restrictions for free users but now it runs without those restrictions except the notification to upgrade but doesn't restrict its functionality even if you do not upgrade. 

1 hour ago, duddy said:

I have been using RoboForm for the last almost 20 years.

Earlier it had restrictions for free users but now it runs without those restrictions except the notification to upgrade but doesn't restrict its functionality even if you do not upgrade. 

Biggest restriction is if you share paswords across diff platforms.. they siber systems will ask you to pony up the cash for that..

Have migrated to BITWARDEN because of that.. 

21 hours ago, debebee said: