'Men In Black' Director Barry Sonnenfeld Calls 8K, Netflix HDR 'Stupid'

steven36

Don’t expect to see the next “Men in Black” movie shot in High Dynamic Range (HDR) or 8K.

ccbf.jpg

Famed Hollywood director Barry Sonnenfeld is not a fan of some of the new TV technologies that are driving the market, namely HDR and 8K.

HDR Is a ‘Disaster’

HDR has become a standard in TVs and among many of streaming media services, much to Sonnenfeld’s chagrin.

“HDR is the future… but it shouldn’t be. It’s great for watching sports, like hockey, but nothing else,” says Sonnenfeld bluntly, while speaking at CEDIA Expo 2019 in a panel discussion sponsored by Kaleidescape with actor Patrick Warburton.

“One of the ways streaming services are trying to market themselves as different from one another besides content and price is technology. I have been saying for 10 years how bad CineMotion and MotionFlow are, but HDR is almost as bad. No one thinks that true… everyone thinks HDR is the future, but I will tell you that it is really problematic,” says Sonnenfeld, who long list of award-winning credits include directing the “Men in Black” films, “Get Shorty” and the “Addams Family” movies.

Sonnenfeld says streaming services like Netflix do not want to release any content that is not HDR, because having HDR makes Netflix appear to be “the next level” from a technology perspective.

“And now other [streaming services] are trying to do the same thing. HDR is great if you are shooting something that has high contrast because it can reduce the highlights and bring up the shadows. If you are shooting in Vancouver surrounded by pine trees during the day, that is genius… you can reduce the contrast.

“But the other thing that HDR does that is a disaster is it will expand contrast,” he says.

Sonnenfeld says in his recent popular Netflix series “A Series of Unfortunate Events”, the plan was to shoot the scenes in a “pastel, low-key, flat, unsaturated look.”