Unidentified Plane-Bae Woman’s Statement Confirms the Worst

tao

This is “not a romance” but “a digital-age cautionary tale about privacy, identity, ethics and consent.”

Last week, an unsuspecting woman boarded a plane from New York to Dallas and switched seats with a woman named Rosey Blair, who had asked to sit next to her boyfriend. The woman ended up with a new seatmate, Euan Holden, a former professional soccer player turned model, and chatted with him throughout the flight. What she didn’t know was that Blair, seated behind her, was surreptitiously photographing her and Holden’s every interaction, recording it all in a Twitter thread that went viral and garnered the hashtag  #PlaneBae.

Now the woman, who has asked to remain anonymous, has spoken out about her experience and the consequences she has suffered as a result.

In a statement issued through her lawyer to Business Insider she wrote:

I am a young professional woman. On July 2, I took a commercial flight from New York to Dallas. Without my knowledge or consent, other passengers photographed me and recorded my conversation with a seatmate. They posted images and recordings to social media, and speculated unfairly about my private conduct.

Since then, my personal information has been widely distributed online. Strangers publicly discussed my private life based on patently false information.

I have been doxxed, shamed, insulted and harassed. Voyeurs have come looking for me online and in the real world.

I did not ask for and do not seek attention. #PlaneBae is not a romance—it is a digital-age cautionary tale about privacy, identity, ethics and consent.

Please continue to respect my privacy, and my desire to remain anonymous.

Her comments confirm many people’s worst suspicions about the event—that she was being exploited for viral fame unknowingly, and unwillingly, to nefarious ends.