Should I Learn Java in 2018

tao

Should I learn Java? This is a question that just keeps coming up. If you are just starting out as a developer, if you already work as a Front End Developer or even if you are from the .NET background, many people wonder if learning Java is the right career/personal development move. Let’s see how useful learning Java is in 2018.

When I first started using Java, around 2007, it had a very mixed reputation. On one hand, it was a reasonably new and modern language, but on the other, it was infamous for its bad performance (not fully deserved in my opinion) and verbosity (when contrasted with, back then, very hyper Python).

Now, more than 10 years later, the question becomes interesting for multiple reasons. Let me list the key concerns that I hear most often:

• Java is old and is going out of fashion.
  • There are much better JVM languages like Scala, Clojure, and Kotlin.
  • I am a Frontend Developer, isn’t NodeJS more practical?
  • Java is unpleasant to work with.
  • Java is too slow/consumes too much memory.
  • Why should I learn Java over  X, Y, Z instead?

I am sure there may be more questions and concerns out there, so let me know in the comments. I may edit the article or answer you directly.

Let’s look at these concerns and questions one by one!

Concern 1: Java is old and is going out of fashion

Java was released in 1995 (according to its Wikipedia page), so it may already be older than some of its users. Is that old? This is subjective, older than many languages that’s for sure! Is that a problem? Well, that’s ageism! Surely age alone is not an argument so let’s look at the other part of this statement.

Is Java really going out of fashion? TIOBE Index tracks the popularity of programming languages. Here is the current top 20 as of 2018:

< Please visit original page to view this table >