Elevated privileges question

Eric Strain

Hi All:

I'm new to this list. I am a computer programmer and I'm looking for other programmers that may be able to answer a question for me. I hope this is the right forum for this. I have a question about elevated processes. Say a program executes under an administrator account and as soon as the main process starts, it executes code that elevates its privileges from admin to system level. My question is, does the main process now have system level privileges or does it have to call LogonUser( ) and CreateProcessAsUser( ) in order for all down-level processes to have system level access? At present the only process in the program is the initial one, I have not created any other processes or threads. The program is a simple exe, not a service and it is not impersonating anyone. Any insight would be much appreciated. Thanks guys.

please reply to *SNIP*

-Eric

• Replies 8
  • Views 1.7k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm not an expert, but this is what I think I know.

When you execute a process under Admin (assuming that the Admin has the appropriate permissions), then that process runs under the Admin elevated privileges. (It doesn't bleed over to System.) If that process then execute a secondary process where the Admin also has the appropriate permissions, then there is no need to invoke another lower privileged account to execute a program. An Admin privilege can not invoke a System only privileged process nor can a System invoke an Admin only privileged process.

Think of the Admin and System as two different persons with the same elevated privileges. The Admin is always a human user who has the Admin elevated privileges. The System is always the OS or a program. The Admin can not execute a System process nor can a System execute an Admin process if neither has the appropriate permission. For an Admin to execute a System only process, the Admin account user must first authorize himself the appropriate permissions.