Driverless Cars - Have we Learned Lessons From the Past?

tao

The world is abuzz with driverless cars! They’re going to change the world! We are all aware of the growing column inches that they receive (this article included) and there is great hope for this emerging technology.

But there is also plenty of concern about the safety and security of these vehicles – and quite rightly so. We have seen many reports of these cars being hacked, and human life is at risk, so you would assume that security is of paramount concern to manufacturers. You would assume, wouldn’t you?

I did my MSc in Information Security project on the security of driverless cars. Amongst other things, I looked at published attacks on these vehicles – and it threw up two disturbing, if not frightening, findings.

Firstly, the attacks performed so far on driverless (and connected) cars have been possible due to all too familiar failings. You may have heard of these vehicles being described as computers on wheels, and this is a fair description. Whatever else is going on under the hood, they still work as a collection of many computers (Electronic Control Units or ECUs) that communicate around the car over wires (primarily the Controller Area Network or CAN bus).

There are lots of ways for an attacker to try and get into the system: from media players, USB ports and WIFI to name but a few. Researchers have looked at these systems and found flaws that have enabled them to conduct even the ultimate of attacks, which is to remotely connect to a car and take control of physical systems such as steering and brakes. One of the most high-profile of these was the 2015 Jeep attack that resulted in the recall of some 1.4 million vehicles.

So why are we seeing familiar issues in a new technology? Checkoway et al. raise a possible explanation in their 2011 paper on automotive attack surfaces. In it, they talk of history repeating the lessons learnt from the past.