OneDrive or Google Photos?

kowalski215

kowalski215

Hi everyone.

It's actually high time to free up my hard drive space and upload my 160+ GB of pictures and videos somewhere (but still, I do NOT know where, and that's why I'm posting here).

I've started uploading a few albums on Google Photos (and actually, most of my pictures are shot on my Xiaomi Mi A1, so they don't exceed 16MP and videos are saved in 1080p).

However, I do not know why, Google Photos give me some sense of uncertainty for the future. I've seen that Google has killed some services in the past (like Picasa) and I'm worried about "where all my pics will go then"?

The alternative would be purchasing a OneDrive subscription as I would have the chance of getting 4 ys at 80€ as I'm a university student, with Office 365 university. The problem is that, after the 4 ys, the price is quite high i.e. 100$ annually for the Office 365 suite (it's 70€ just for onedrive I guess).

If you were at my place, what would you do?

I know is somewhat more a personal choice, but as I have not decided yet, i'd like to hear some of your opinions.

thx (and happy easter to all of you ;) )

• Replies 16
  • Views 1.1k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Neither of these are suitable because they are not made to be used for storing photos, but only for sharing with friends and showing to your friends online.
Once again - they are not suitable for maintaining the photos for a long time, and there is also a quality problem. Website photo is at all different thing as the real photo, original photo or photo, what is meant for storing or remeber the history.

kowalski215
1 minute ago, Kalju said:

Neither of these are suitable because they are not made to be used for storing photos, but only for sharing with friends and showing to your friends online.