Avitar

Hey everyone. Recently I've removed a virus from my BIOS and in the process i opened up my Gateway NV59C and cleaned it up. Unfortunately, I removed the thermal conductor from the Core to the heatsync, thinking it was years of built up muck. Can anyone recommend a homemade alternative? I have lots of creams and greases, just not sure which one to try...

• Replies 18
  • Views 1.6k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I have lots of creams and greases, just not sure which one to try...

:lmao:

I couldn't help myself... :sorry:

I'm an engineer, lots of grease around. And my sister has tons of face and body creams i can use some of... :wtf:

Hmm, this sounds like a terrible idea. you are better off just putting back the heatsink without any thermal grease. Most household items contain water or paraffin or alcohol that will dry out and get hard in a very short time. The longest lasting thing you could get is silicone lubricant and rub the thinnest layer possible. I don't recommend any of this, it's a bad idea when you consider thermal grease is cheap. Ask your girlfriend for $5 USD and go buy some thermal grease. ^_^

Hmm, this sounds like a terrible idea. you are better off just putting back the heatsink without any thermal grease.

Actually, that's what I did, and the core jumps to 80 degrees Celsius when processing and shuts off randomly.

Ask your girlfriend for $5 USD and go buy some thermal grease. ^_^

Now you're from the same country as I am. Buying something defeats the purpose of nerd life...

Who sells the thermal grease by the way? Can I get some from you? I live in south.

hahahahahaha :D

Just use some hand cream, that should do the trick :lol:

This made my day.

stylemessiah

Toothpaste :P

Actually why dont you go hard core and submerge the motherboard in oil and oil cool it...trust me its a real thing, google it

You know, that perverted thought gave me an idea. Maybe I should go ask my girlfriend for some of her lubricant! ^_^