Instructions on how to overclock? :)

Alanon

Ok, so here's my situation. I have a massively old pc (bout 5 years), and it's high time i did something to it. XD I don't want to buy a new one just yet, so I thought I might try to overclock my CPU, as I've heard that mine is extremely convenient for such things. XD

Here's my setup:

Intel Pentium Dual-Core E2140 @1.6 GHz

ATI Radeon X1300/X1550 256MB series video card (pure crap, I know :( )

Motherboard: Foxconn 945 7AE series with Phoenix AwardBIOS v6.00PG

also 3 GB of ram in two sticks (DDR2), on a Win XP 32-bit

Now I'm a hardware dumb-ass, and based on what I've read, there've been some people which were able to push the CPU up to 3GHz, and for it to remain stable!

I've tried to search through the forums for some instructions and wound up being confused. XD Since I've never done this before (and I've only ever used the BIOS to set up Windows boot source priority), I would appreciate detailed instructions as to how to proceed and not fuck up. XD

• Replies 9
  • Views 1.4k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Overclocking is not only with the CPU business..It depends upon the mobo and the the RAM too..your config is just entry level and so outdated (don't mind please)..And, Alanon, I suggest, If you can afford a new system then only you should try the experiment..Do remember that OC directly plays with hardwares, not like software that you will pirate them and install B)

Also, there is no way you can overclock to 3ghz with stock cooling.

Cheers ;)

EDIT: Just look at temperature in this video. It's 49C and CPU is doing nothing since PC is in the BIOS. At higher load his CPU won't last long without better cooling.

Well, that's why I would like to ovrerclock it. I've been vying to get a new rig for a looong time now, and I just thought why not try to squeeze some more juice from it before it goes to retirement. XD

A question: Is there any point in using software clock changers, and if so, which ones? :)