Help me make a choice .

majithia23

Yo Homies ,

how you all doing ...! :)

A happy new year to all ...

i know its late ... :P , but still ... !

Allright guys , need your help to make a decision ...

Thinking of getting an External HDD about 500 Gb .

Narrowed to these ones --

WD My Passport 500 Gb -- http://www.naaptol.c...00GB-2.5-U.html

Seagate GoFlex 500 Gb -- http://www.naaptol.c...lack-500GB.html

Buffalo MiniStation -- http://www.naaptol.c...5-portable.html

which one out of these would be the most worth the bucks spent .?

the best one out of these ?

in terms of performance , durability and reliability ...

i have no experience in HDDs ,

so what brand do you guys recommend from your experience and knowledge that would be the most prudent choice to go for ...

and its not just these makes ,

please do recommend any other brands also , which have worked for you ..

Hitachi ? Toshiba ? Lacie ? IoMega ? Transcend ? etc , etc , etc .....

preferrably with USB 3.0 interface ...

thanks ....

• Replies 49
  • Views 5.1k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

For me, the warranty period is pretty important and I think it adds good value when considering HDDs(both internal and external drives). I try to buy drives with at least 3 year warranty. Out of the 3 you listed, only the Seagate shows the warranty period, so maybe it's worth while to find out the other 2 if are seriously considering.

Brand-wise, my vote also goes to western digital. They have work great and been reliable for me, and their warranty service is also pretty good in my experience.

thanks guys for your replies ...

@beer

warranty is not an issue . both the drives are offering a 3 year warranty .

how ever the thing worth considering is the increased cost of hard drives due to the floods in Thailand .

the same drive which is now costing about $80 was available for about $45 or 50 , 2 months back . ! :mellow:

so again i have to make a second choice ( ... though not a major one )