C++ or Microsoft Visual Basic 6?

rapcoolink

Hello,

I would like to start learning programming and have two options which application I should take into: C++ or Microsoft visual basic.

I am totally new to this stuff so can somebody help me choose which is better for newbie like me? :rolleyes:

Thanks.

• Replies 16
  • Views 1.2k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

C++ and Microsoft visual basic aren't in same class. C++ and C# can be compared. I think, C# is powerful and easy to learn.

visual basic if it wasnt 6 lol you dont want a 1998 language to start off with truuust me

Don't bother with VB ;)

Don't bother with VB ;)

Why? VB is pretty easy to learn, and works just fine. Which do you use? From what I could figure when you posted in my topic about c++ tutorial, you don't use c++ if you don't have to, so what do you use?

Cheers ;)

Don't bother with VB ;)

Why? VB is pretty easy to learn, and works just fine. Which do you use? From what I could figure when you posted in my topic about c++ tutorial, you don't use c++ if you don't have to, so what do you use?

Cheers ;)

I mostly code in C# - http://www.nsaneforums.com/topic/63411-interactive-tutorials-coders-vault/page__view__findpost__p__300479

The reason I don't like VB is because i found it to hinder my developer skills - it is not like other languages, and what you learn doesn't transfer well. Learning a C style language (C++,C#,Java) is no harder than VB, but you learn a coding style which allows you to move to another language without too much much hassle.

For a beginner, a C or C++ is more appropriate to learn... Once you get some basic of programming and want to advance to newer technology, you should switch to higher language, C#, or depends on what your target is.