Registry Cleaners - Are they necessary? Are they safe?

Zigen

I was having a discussion with a friend over the need for Registry cleaners. He claims they have no value and are dangerous. A google search does indeed show quite a few people saying that registry cleaners are a waste of time & money and they do nothing much and are potentially dangerous with the ability to crash your system.

I personally have been using Registry cleaners like PC Tools, Yamisoft Manager XP/7/8 and have never had an issue. I do a backup every time though. There are a lot of other Registry cleaners out there that I haven't tried like ccleaner, netgate etc

My question is, are they really useful or just a waste of time as many on the internet claim?

• Replies 22
  • Views 2.4k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• TuFaS

• sirri

• Journey

• Zigen

Top Posters In This Topic

I'm no expert, but if i'd were to say from my experience -

Registry cleaners are useful and not useful !

Why....

>> I have used systems with absolutely no cleaning of registry and with no drop in performance !

>> I even used a system with extensive registry cleaning with multiple scanners in advanced mode, like JV16 and others in advanced mode when even the program alerts you to slow down and go mild in cleaning or else, but still nothing happens to the system.

>> And then i have used a system when a simple scan with an innocent seeming scanner *ucked up the system to the extent where it failed to start .

>> Many times a mild registry scanner like the CCleaner or even a more elaborate scanner have helped solved some issues with the PC .

For me its like that flavor of ice cream which you neither like nor hate, but will give a lick because its an ice cream and then on the flip can even let go off it because you dont like the flavor ! ......