Benefits of Windows XP 64 bit over 32 bit

shought

What do you guys think? Should i go with the 64 bit version of XP or just take the 32 bit version? I read some stuff about some programs conflicting with 64 bit Windows and about driver incompatibilities, anyone care to explain?

I am not a programmer of any kind i just use my pc for desktop purposes and some basic gaming/video encoding. Will i see much/any speed improvement using the 64 bit version?

I already know that 64bit XP includes the 32bit system files for better compatibility. How i think of it this will only slow down my system because twice as much systems files have to be loaded or am i wrong here? Yep i was wrong, there's just three extra files for loading 32 bit programs.

I already found this site, but it's MS's own so...

I found this too, but the main conclusion i get from all of these articles is: It's good for the future but you won't see much improvement at this time.

• Replies 35
  • Views 3.5k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

windows XP x64 runs much faster and its more stable ( ist bulid on 2003 server ) i was using it for couple days but i return to the 32 bit beucase of non crack to the esset on x64 :P

windows XP x64 runs much faster and its more stable ( ist bulid on 2003 server ) i was using it for couple days but i return to the 32 bit beucase of non crack to the esset on x64 :P

Much faster, yeah? Explain more stable... Windows XP 32bit seems pretty stable to me!

Are a lot of cracks/patches and stuff not working on 64bit?

Much faster, yeah? Explain more stable... Windows XP 32bit seems pretty stable to me!

Are a lot of cracks/patches and stuff not working on 64bit?

i ran wxp pro 64 bit since it came out.i never looked back.it is quite a bit faster and most drivers are able to run on it.64bit is the only system(including vista)that i will run.any program that runs on 64 will be able to use crack/patches on.,

any program that runs on 64 will be able to use crack/patches on.,